X-CulT Community Forums: I need help to make a "X/Y/Z modifier" code in SA2B - X-CulT Community Forums

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

I need help to make a "X/Y/Z modifier" code in SA2B

#1 User is offline   samou

Icon
Posts:
12
Joined:
16-January 10
Gender:
Male
Country:
France
Interest:
General Fan

Posted 23 June 2010 - 05:03 AM

Hi ! I just noticed that Knuckles and Rouge are a bit different than the other characters in a very specific way :
They seems to create a sort of barrier in every level you want to play with, you know, you can't by pass it, and when you glide they just turn around and go back.
Well, I think the reason why they freeze the game in levels such as city escape, eternal engine, crazy gadget etc is because they appear right into an infinitly little barrier (noticeable since when you try to glide, the character floats in circles forever. So if we could make a code to modify the position of the character, we could certainly by pass those barriers and play any level with the treasure hunter.

That's my opinion ! Now, feel free to say what you think about the subject, and my idea !

Hope I won't be insulted though :p

#2 User is offline   Zeck

  • ................
Icon
Posts:
569
Joined:
01-January 06
Gender:
Male
Country:
Saint Lucia
Interest:
Classic Amy Fan

Posted 23 June 2010 - 09:50 AM

Your best chance here is asking "link" for advice on it otherwise post this topic on retro. but mostly your going to have to pull it off yourself we don't do any sort of sonic research anymore (unless its a topic from our past) and finding anyone to be interested enough to help you here is a rarity.

Good luck though...

#3 User is offline   samou

Icon
Posts:
12
Joined:
16-January 10
Gender:
Male
Country:
France
Interest:
General Fan

Posted 23 June 2010 - 10:13 AM

Ok thank you :)

This post has been edited by samou: 23 June 2010 - 11:26 AM


#4 User is offline   Link

  • Leader of the unknown troops to rescue the universe
Icon
Posts:
614
Joined:
01-January 06
Gender:
Male
Country:
Germany
Interest:
Programmer
Location:
Earth, Europe, Germany

Posted 23 June 2010 - 12:27 PM

Do you have a way to create AR codes for SA2B - this would be possible using WiiRd/Gecko dotNET (on Wii or Gamecube) or GCNrd (on Gamecube ONLY(!)). In worst case using Dolphin together with cheat engine should also work.

Basically XYZ modifiers are quite easy: you need to do simple memory searches. In most cases it is most easy to check the vertical variable (for most games this is the Y or Z axis, for SEGA it would typically be the Y axis). Basically using Knuckles or Rouge grab onto a wall and climb up and down. Parallelly do memory searches for "increased value" and "decreased value" while always pausing the game. You will essentially end up finding the vertical variable. Now in all games I saw so far coordinates were stored as a vector, records, structs or array - no matter how they internally do it: all those three are represented identically on game memory: simply all three values as floating point values in a row.

If you do not think you're able to do this, I might give it a try this week-end!

#5 User is offline   samou

Icon
Posts:
12
Joined:
16-January 10
Gender:
Male
Country:
France
Interest:
General Fan

Posted 23 June 2010 - 01:17 PM

Wow I expected something like that... I mean that complicated... I'm not a hacker at all in fact, I never learnt actually...
I already made some little codes that was never done before like putting mechless tails and eggman in a character modifier joker, or some stuff like that, but I always did it by deduction. So... no I don't think I can do this... I was hoping it could be done without directly hacking the game.
So, well I'd sure be really grateful if you could make it for me, but don't feel obliged, I don't want you to think it was planned :)

#6 User is offline   Zeck

  • ................
Icon
Posts:
569
Joined:
01-January 06
Gender:
Male
Country:
Saint Lucia
Interest:
Classic Amy Fan

Posted 23 June 2010 - 11:01 PM

View Postsamou, on 23 June 2010 - 11:17 AM, said:

Wow I expected something like that... I mean that complicated... I'm not a hacker at all in fact, I never learnt actually...
I already made some little codes that was never done before like putting mechless tails and eggman in a character modifier joker, or some stuff like that, but I always did it by deduction. So... no I don't think I can do this... I was hoping it could be done without directly hacking the game.
So, well I'd sure be really grateful if you could make it for me, but don't feel obliged, I don't want you to think it was planned :)


With the right tutorials anyone can do this but you need an AR (action replay) for gamecube and a spare gamecube. wiis and old AR don't mix anymore since nintendo cockblocked the use of them but there maybe a way now its been awhile.

Since link is willing though, i would love to see more SA2B work from him.

This post has been edited by Zeck: 23 June 2010 - 11:01 PM


#7 User is offline   samou

Icon
Posts:
12
Joined:
16-January 10
Gender:
Male
Country:
France
Interest:
General Fan

Posted 24 June 2010 - 08:25 AM

View PostZeck, on 24 June 2010 - 05:01 AM, said:

View Postsamou, on 23 June 2010 - 11:17 AM, said:

Wow I expected something like that... I mean that complicated... I'm not a hacker at all in fact, I never learnt actually...
I already made some little codes that was never done before like putting mechless tails and eggman in a character modifier joker, or some stuff like that, but I always did it by deduction. So... no I don't think I can do this... I was hoping it could be done without directly hacking the game.
So, well I'd sure be really grateful if you could make it for me, but don't feel obliged, I don't want you to think it was planned :)


With the right tutorials anyone can do this but you need an AR (action replay) for gamecube and a spare gamecube. wiis and old AR don't mix anymore since nintendo cockblocked the use of them but there maybe a way now its been awhile.

Since link is willing though, i would love to see more SA2B work from him.



"A spare gamecube" ? You mean a second gamecube ?

This post has been edited by samou: 24 June 2010 - 08:40 AM


#8 User is offline   Zeck

  • ................
Icon
Posts:
569
Joined:
01-January 06
Gender:
Male
Country:
Saint Lucia
Interest:
Classic Amy Fan

Posted 24 June 2010 - 11:12 AM

View Postsamou, on 24 June 2010 - 06:25 AM, said:

View PostZeck, on 24 June 2010 - 05:01 AM, said:

View Postsamou, on 23 June 2010 - 11:17 AM, said:

Wow I expected something like that... I mean that complicated... I'm not a hacker at all in fact, I never learnt actually...
I already made some little codes that was never done before like putting mechless tails and eggman in a character modifier joker, or some stuff like that, but I always did it by deduction. So... no I don't think I can do this... I was hoping it could be done without directly hacking the game.
So, well I'd sure be really grateful if you could make it for me, but don't feel obliged, I don't want you to think it was planned :)


With the right tutorials anyone can do this but you need an AR (action replay) for gamecube and a spare gamecube. wiis and old AR don't mix anymore since nintendo cockblocked the use of them but there maybe a way now its been awhile.

Since link is willing though, i would love to see more SA2B work from him.



"A spare gamecube" ? You mean a second gamecube ?


Yes there pretty easy to get now a days if you don't have a second one.

#9 User is offline   samou

Icon
Posts:
12
Joined:
16-January 10
Gender:
Male
Country:
France
Interest:
General Fan

Posted 24 June 2010 - 11:21 AM

But I don't understand, what's the use of having two gamecube exactly ?

#10 User is offline   Zeck

  • ................
Icon
Posts:
569
Joined:
01-January 06
Gender:
Male
Country:
Saint Lucia
Interest:
Classic Amy Fan

Posted 24 June 2010 - 10:53 PM

View Postsamou, on 24 June 2010 - 09:21 AM, said:

But I don't understand, what's the use of having two gamecube exactly ?


I ment if you have a wii. if you already have a gamecube then fine.

#11 User is offline   Link

  • Leader of the unknown troops to rescue the universe
Icon
Posts:
614
Joined:
01-January 06
Gender:
Male
Country:
Germany
Interest:
Programmer
Location:
Earth, Europe, Germany

Posted 25 June 2010 - 01:35 AM

It is possible to use a pseudo action replay on the Wii now. I am on the Gecko project ( http://wiird.l0nk.org ) who developed Gecko OS the cheating tool for Wii. One of our enthusiastic forum members developed an application which is also able to load the Gecko code handler together with Gamecube games. It cannot load all Gamecube games (for example it fails for streaming audio games such as Starfox Adventures) though. SA2B works, if it is absolutely required I can give basic instructions on how to use AR codes with it. There was also an AR 1.14 loader which essentially loads an Action Replay. You can also downgrade your MIOS (Gamecube handler on Wii) to a very old MIOS still accepting the Action Replay.

#12 User is offline   samou

Icon
Posts:
12
Joined:
16-January 10
Gender:
Male
Country:
France
Interest:
General Fan

Posted 25 June 2010 - 08:28 AM

Lol don't worry I have a Gamecube with an AR MAX, and SA2B (US) not PAL. But thanks anyway :)

And while I'm at it, I wanted to ask something, why is it impossible to be able to play as regular characters in the Route 101/280 levels or Kart Races ? I mean, what goes wrong when joker switching characters ? It freezes everytime... Especially when a friend of mine managed to get them to work using Cheat Engine on SA2 (Dreamcast) with emulator...

This post has been edited by samou: 25 June 2010 - 09:57 AM


#13 User is offline   Link

  • Leader of the unknown troops to rescue the universe
Icon
Posts:
614
Joined:
01-January 06
Gender:
Male
Country:
Germany
Interest:
Programmer
Location:
Earth, Europe, Germany

Posted 26 June 2010 - 02:36 AM

View Postsamou, on 25 June 2010 - 03:28 PM, said:

And while I'm at it, I wanted to ask something, why is it impossible to be able to play as regular characters in the Route 101/280 levels or Kart Races ? I mean, what goes wrong when joker switching characters ? It freezes everytime... Especially when a friend of mine managed to get them to work using Cheat Engine on SA2 (Dreamcast) with emulator...


The Dreamcast version has several differences, that is indeed known. That's all I can say, back then I really tried loading regular characters in the driving stages and no it never worked.

For the x/y/z modifier.. as I guessed.. quite easy IF(!) you have the equipment.

Posted Image

However, to make a code out of that.. making it short.. an Action Replay code for Gamecube is essentially impossible.. you need to perform floating point operations on values only accessible via pointers.. the only way to do so is using assembly codes and even then I am limited to about 32 lines per code as well as 60 codes max.

What I can provide though:
-memory addresses (PAL and NTSC-U versions)
-Gecko code (Gecko is the Wii cheat code handler which can also be used in Gamecube mode/on real Gamecubes if you know how to run Gamecube homebrew - on the Gamecube however you will require a USB Gecko to use the codes, on Wii there are loaders which can load games together with codes! - the Gecko code handler is MUCH more versatile and has codes handling these kinda situations!)

#14 User is offline   samou

Icon
Posts:
12
Joined:
16-January 10
Gender:
Male
Country:
France
Interest:
General Fan

Posted 26 June 2010 - 06:35 AM

So... You're saying you changed Knuckles position without a code action replay, but directly using your PC while linked to your Gamecube ?
And why can't we make an action replay code for that, when you can make one for Super Mario Sunshine ?

=>

X/Y/Z Mod(donny2112)*
ME0W-N7N7-PZ02E
HHJ0-V09D-ZDQEJ
VX6H-WDBY-RDR9Q
BU92-JG3J-P48BV
MDF6-C0JX-1C4EC
5P21-KBWE-THQX5
2XYC-UVBH-6M2PK
B35H-F0RZ-PNPZ3
11ZT-TAUH-R2CYP
0453-ENHU-Y9Q1T
4UZ5-92VR-9Y7VW
PF4T-W9WY-RZZZC
9GRW-JTTQ-C77KG
F7RH-DFZ8-QF77Y
F494-E1M2-1CFAA
5FE6-Z69N-RWAK1
M6UC-4XJ9-CZCCK
NEAP-P15V-HD047
UQDR-UTZR-872YC
Z6ZH-Y8BW-X22QE
V51R-GM8D-JC9ZT
48PX-HV0H-82J9W
BCH5-QKMD-8A2MD
XRF9-6XA3-DHCDX
GGR7-JBGV-4Y3TB
C6AT-5Z2M-BX8FD
50Y3-2Q4Y-G0QER
2DTD-PD7Y-93PAA
MGM6-J7F3-ZQXZY
HH91-ER3U-N4ZRM
F37C-7WZU-Z961W
GEEJ-2G1Q-EGAZE
4WH8-9FG8-P9YN7
DP0E-3W4P-GR6X7
D2B9-KC2K-CE8GK
7YN8-W1AX-P8XM2
YXMN-0ARJ-R7074
YJ8J-7ER5-7XAY5
5321-52G4-U7531
C241-E2XZ-TA6QB

See ?

This post has been edited by samou: 26 June 2010 - 06:40 AM


#15 User is offline   Link

  • Leader of the unknown troops to rescue the universe
Icon
Posts:
614
Joined:
01-January 06
Gender:
Male
Country:
Germany
Interest:
Programmer
Location:
Earth, Europe, Germany

Posted 26 June 2010 - 08:06 AM

View Postsamou, on 26 June 2010 - 01:35 PM, said:

So... You're saying you changed Knuckles position without a code action replay, but directly using your PC while linked to your Gamecube ?


Yes!

View Postsamou, on 26 June 2010 - 01:35 PM, said:

And why can't we make an action replay code for that, when you can make one for Super Mario Sunshine ?

X/Y/Z Mod(donny2112)*
long code here


Simple thing: would you please point to the pointer data and the floating point data within that code.. it does assembly handling with non-pointered integer values!

Next time you accuse me of denying wishes, please learn what you're talking about. If other people are interested in the addresses or ways of doing it, I'll post it, but I really wouldn't want to work with such an attitude!

#16 User is offline   samou

Icon
Posts:
12
Joined:
16-January 10
Gender:
Male
Country:
France
Interest:
General Fan

Posted 26 June 2010 - 08:15 AM

"Simple thing: would you please point to the pointer data and the floating point data within that code.. it does assembly handling with non-pointered integer values!"

Errr wow xD My english is not THAT good. No I really didn't understand what you said :s

"Denying wishes" ?

No I really didn't mean any harm or anything :o
Look, if you found me agressive, I'm sorry I really really didn't mean it :o

It's just that I'm trying to understand that's all, I totally trust what you say !

Understand me, I'm not bilingual with english, so maybe what I said was rude, but I did not mean it :)

This post has been edited by samou: 26 June 2010 - 08:21 AM


#17 User is offline   Link

  • Leader of the unknown troops to rescue the universe
Icon
Posts:
614
Joined:
01-January 06
Gender:
Male
Country:
Germany
Interest:
Programmer
Location:
Earth, Europe, Germany

Posted 26 June 2010 - 08:29 AM

Well to make it short.. there are direct addresses.. and indirect (pointer addresses).. on the Gamecube pointers were quite rare, so the Action Replay only has one VERY simple pointer code type.. this code type can be used to access an address which is accessible using one pointer (imagine a pointer to be like a sign on your way, it points where you have to go, as you (the application) do not know the direct target).

That's the first problem.. the code by donny is written to directly access a fixed address - a direct one, not indirect.. and then.. the last aspect. his code is writing regular numbers:

Numbers are like: 0,1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10 and they are ONLY(!) positive.. so you do not need to care about negative numbers. They are represented quite easily on system memory:
0 = 00000000
8 = 00000008
10 = 0000000A (hexa-decimal)

SA2B uses floating point numbers: they look like: -2.47, 0.223, 4968.55
Those numbers are represented very difficulty:

0.0 = 00000000
1.0 = 3F800000
2.5 = 40200000
-1.0 = CF800000
-0.25 = CE800000

And well.. the Gamecube action replay is not built to handle this format properly!

#18 User is offline   samou

Icon
Posts:
12
Joined:
16-January 10
Gender:
Male
Country:
France
Interest:
General Fan

Posted 26 June 2010 - 08:31 AM

Oh ok, and since it works a different way in mario sunshine, the action replay can handle it ? Is that it ?

Link, do you think this code can allow the treasure hunters to go in every levels ? Or the others character to go out of the boss limits ?

This post has been edited by samou: 27 June 2010 - 11:38 AM


#19 User is offline   sonicblur

Icon
Posts:
176
Joined:
02-January 06
Gender:
Male
Interest:
Programmer

Posted 14 October 2010 - 07:48 PM

Sorry to bump this, although it's not like it wasn't far down on the page.
I solved this problem very soon after releasing the character and level switch codes for the US version many years ago, with this code:

Gravity Control:
1. BF82-N34E-T724X
2. ABZU-UNZ9-ZU2ZC
3. NEJC-38XR-N0BB5
4. GBZQ-PU2A-3G771
5. 9F49-AGB9-49JNZ
6. E9FZ-A3QA-YCERP
7. MKAR-H3PM-RFKJU
8. NEJC-38XR-N0BB5
9. M5C1-243A-RZ6Z1
10. 9F49-AGB9-49JNZ
11. E9FZ-A3QA-YCERP
12. AM6Q-EQCE-8611U
13. T7TE-4H0D-MHDP0
14. A76T-A980-YTFRY
15. 9F49-AGB9-49JNZ
16. E9FZ-A3QA-YCERP
17. HKM0-JAD2-0F01C
18. A113-UYCH-M9YRW
19. EXEF-Q02U-A6RRJ
20. NEJC-38XR-N0BB5
21. A76T-A980-YTFRY
22. W77M-A2A4-B3Y3J
23. E9FZ-A3QA-YCERP
24. 3AME-YTWC-0M7Z8
25. U4BK-TTNE-Z7MFV

It allows you to use the C-Stick to control the direction of gravity. Since it's for the US version, it won't help you directly.
But if anyone with the PAL version wants to port it for you, here's the address and values from the US version. You can easily search for these values when playing Crazy Gadget. They work in all stages.

Location: 801E5624
Down: 0000000 BF800000 0000000
Up: 0000000 3F800000 0000000
Left: 0000000 0000000 BF800000
Right: 0000000 0000000 3F800000
Away: 3F80000 0000000 00000000
Towards: BF80000 0000000 00000000

#20 User is offline   Zero254

Icon
Posts:
33
Joined:
16-September 09
Gender:
Male
Country:
United States
Interest:
Failure

Posted 25 October 2010 - 08:51 PM

Couldn't this just be made by using an offset for the pal version?

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users