X-CulT Community Forums: New laptop - X-CulT Community Forums

Jump to content

  • (2 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

New laptop Need a little help

#1 User is offline   littleredman

  • fake plastic member.
Icon
Posts:
242
Joined:
01-January 06
Gender:
Male
Country:
United Kingdom
Interest:
General Fan

Posted 13 November 2006 - 12:20 PM

Hullo peeps.I just bought my first laptop, it's pretty sweet but its full of crap software I don't need. Since this is my first laptop, I'm a little unsure on what I can mess with. Is it any different from a desktop in the sense that there's stuff I shouldn't delete? I don't really want to format.In other words, can I just go through and remove anything I know I wouldn't need on my desktop?Thanks!

#2 User is offline   Stiv

  • Stretch it!
Icon
Posts:
536
Joined:
31-December 05
Gender:
Male
Country:
England
Interest:
Artist
Location:
NE England

Posted 13 November 2006 - 12:23 PM

AFAIK... I formatted my Mothers laptop once and installed the Windows from my desktop, so I presume there's no difference.That's assuming it is a Windows desktop, not a mac.Then I have no idea.

#3 User is offline   littleredman

  • fake plastic member.
Icon
Posts:
242
Joined:
01-January 06
Gender:
Male
Country:
United Kingdom
Interest:
General Fan

Posted 13 November 2006 - 01:04 PM

Yea it's a windows laptop. I'm assuming I can do what I want with it but I just wanted to be sure, y'know?On a slightly unrelated note, if I get a wireless router (which I may be doing shortly), what are the chances of someone haxoring my laptop and/or connection? And are they simple (in your opinion) to set up?Yes, I could google this but I like the opinions/stories of you guys.

#4 User is offline   Stoko

Icon
Posts:
1,075
Joined:
06-January 06
Gender:
Not Telling
Country:
United Kingdom
Interest:
General Fan

Posted 13 November 2006 - 02:43 PM

Yeah, you can remove all the preinstalled crap (that is, assuming it actually lets you).As for wireless routers, I'd say fuck them. As long as you make sure your connection is encrypted, security shouldn't be an issue. However, fuck them nonetheless. If you're prepared for your connection to randomly drop for no real reason at all, go for it. If not, buy a spool of wire and a crimper and go nuts.

#5 User is offline   Bronze God

  • I am kind.
Icon
Posts:
406
Joined:
15-January 06
Gender:
Male
Country:
Nicaragua
Interest:
Musician

Posted 13 November 2006 - 03:12 PM

I always wanted to know if it was possible to change the gfx card in a Dell laptop...

#6 User is offline   Tweaker

  • A thrilling mystery!
Icon
Posts:
965
Joined:
31-December 05
Gender:
Male
Country:
United States
Interest:
Hacker
Location:
Pinellas Park, FL

Posted 13 November 2006 - 04:39 PM

View PostStoko, on Nov 13 2006, 02:43 PM, said:

Yeah, you can remove all the preinstalled crap (that is, assuming it actually lets you).As for wireless routers, I'd say fuck them. As long as you make sure your connection is encrypted, security shouldn't be an issue. However, fuck them nonetheless. If you're prepared for your connection to randomly drop for no real reason at all, go for it. If not, buy a spool of wire and a crimper and go nuts.
Quoted for absolute truth. Hell, my connection drops whenever my parents go on MySpace. Does that seem reliable to you?I mean, I guess it would be helpful for a laptop, but it's given me a hell of a lot of problems on both my old laptop and my desktop. The only reason I don't use a wired connection is because my PC is too far from it. I suppose I could always buy an extended ethernet cable, but I really can't be arsed.

#7 User is offline   Stoko

Icon
Posts:
1,075
Joined:
06-January 06
Gender:
Not Telling
Country:
United Kingdom
Interest:
General Fan

Posted 13 November 2006 - 04:50 PM

View PostTweaker, on Nov 13 2006, 09:39 PM, said:

I suppose I could always buy an extended ethernet cable, but I really can't be arsed.
100m spool of wire, crimper, RJ45 connectors, win.

#8 User is offline   littleredman

  • fake plastic member.
Icon
Posts:
242
Joined:
01-January 06
Gender:
Male
Country:
United Kingdom
Interest:
General Fan

Posted 13 November 2006 - 05:29 PM

Oh heck, I've gone and bought a wireless router and adsl model. I needed it for my laptop, I can't be arsed with 100m spools of wire...However, haha, the damn thing isn't working. It seems to work fine as a modem connected to my desktop via an ethernet cable, but as for wireless... nothing. Can anyone help at all?

#9 User is offline   littleredman

  • fake plastic member.
Icon
Posts:
242
Joined:
01-January 06
Gender:
Male
Country:
United Kingdom
Interest:
General Fan

Posted 13 November 2006 - 05:50 PM

... there was a button on the front of my laptop...

#10 User is offline   Beta

  • Admin Emeritus
Icon
Posts:
383
Joined:
08-January 06
Gender:
Male
Country:
United States
Interest:
Programmer
Location:
San Diego, CA

Posted 13 November 2006 - 10:20 PM

View PostBronze God, on Nov 13 2006, 12:12 PM, said:

I always wanted to know if it was possible to change the gfx card in a Dell laptop...
Nope. Very few laptops have an actual interchangeable video card board that works with whatever hardware.

#11 User is offline   Stoko

Icon
Posts:
1,075
Joined:
06-January 06
Gender:
Not Telling
Country:
United Kingdom
Interest:
General Fan

Posted 13 November 2006 - 10:24 PM

View Postlittleredman, on Nov 13 2006, 10:29 PM, said:

... there was a button on the front of my laptop...
...was this very vague second post (psst, the "Edit" button is right there) meant to imply there was a button that enabled wireless, hence fixing your problem?

#12 User is offline   blamemyparents

  • Mama said knock you out
Icon
Posts:
600
Joined:
31-December 05
Gender:
Male
Country:
United States
Interest:
Nuisance

Posted 14 November 2006 - 01:38 AM

Why does everyone suck at wifi? I've had D-link, Apple, and Linksys routers, and all have performed fantastically with different cards and computers. What are you guys doing wrong? If you're in the same room as whatever you're networkign with, of course you'd use a wire, but otherwise? Fuck that.Also, Ive never bothered with encryption or any of that crap. Secure your computer itself, then leave the network open to make life easy. Are you REALLY worried the neighbors will see that you're looking at porn and downloading genesis roms?and yeah, nuke whatever you can. Unless it's something that sounds blatantly important, like it relates to the video card or the battery or something.

This post has been edited by blamemyparents: 14 November 2006 - 01:40 AM


#13 User is offline   littleredman

  • fake plastic member.
Icon
Posts:
242
Joined:
01-January 06
Gender:
Male
Country:
United Kingdom
Interest:
General Fan

Posted 14 November 2006 - 07:52 AM

View PostStoko, on Nov 14 2006, 03:24 AM, said:

... there was a button on the front of my laptop...
...was this very vague second post (psst, the "Edit" button is right there) meant to imply there was a button that enabled wireless, hence fixing your problem?[/quote]Sorry, I'll blame my lack of editing on my stress levels! But yeah, basically the reason I couldn't receive the wireless signal on my laptop was because there was a button on the front to switch the wireless receiver on. Oh well, it's working now and I'm more or less happy.Thanks loads for the advice, though, I do appreciate it.

#14 User is offline   Sintendo

  • ...
Icon
Posts:
244
Joined:
01-January 06
Gender:
Male
Country:
Belgium
Interest:
General Fan

Posted 14 November 2006 - 11:08 AM

View Postblamemyparents, on Nov 14 2006, 07:38 AM, said:

Why does everyone suck at wifi? I've had D-link, Apple, and Linksys routers, and all have performed fantastically with different cards and computers. What are you guys doing wrong? If you're in the same room as whatever you're networkign with, of course you'd use a wire, but otherwise? Fuck that.Also, Ive never bothered with encryption or any of that crap. Secure your computer itself, then leave the network open to make life easy. Are you REALLY worried the neighbors will see that you're looking at porn and downloading genesis roms?and yeah, nuke whatever you can. Unless it's something that sounds blatantly important, like it relates to the video card or the battery or something.
Same here. Sure, wired connections are faster and you won't lose connection with them, but fuck having a shitload of wire through the entire house. Also, the faster speed of LAN is only usefull when transmitting files between computers on your network. When sending things through the internet it doesn't matter, since Wifi is usually faster than your internet connection anyway.Also, my connection rarely disconnects. It used to disconnect a lot, but that was because my PC was placed very bad.About security, I have a WEP key on my router and that's all. I know you're all going to say OMG WEP IS UNSECURE AND EASY TO CRACK LOLOL!!11, but:1) The DS only supports WEP for playing online.2) I doubt anybody around here actually knows what WEP is, let alone knows how to crack it.

#15 User is offline   Stoko

Icon
Posts:
1,075
Joined:
06-January 06
Gender:
Not Telling
Country:
United Kingdom
Interest:
General Fan

Posted 14 November 2006 - 11:25 AM

Setting up a LAN over your house's power grid = win.

#16 User is offline   Sintendo

  • ...
Icon
Posts:
244
Joined:
01-January 06
Gender:
Male
Country:
Belgium
Interest:
General Fan

Posted 14 November 2006 - 01:04 PM

Last time I checked, setting up a LAN through your power grid pretty expensive compared to WiFi or a regular LAN. Also, you'd have to waste one of your power plugs for it. Don't get me wrong, though. If I could choose between wired LAN or WiFi, I'd definatly pick the wired LAN. It's just not very practical in my case, and WiFi isn't as bad as some people here make it look.

This post has been edited by Sintendo: 14 November 2006 - 01:06 PM


#17 User is offline   paul

  • :3
Icon
Posts:
671
Joined:
31-December 05
Gender:
Female
Country:
Ethiopia
Interest:
Hated
Location:
Wolverhampton, UK

Posted 14 November 2006 - 02:08 PM

What kind of crappy hardware do you people use for wireless?My WiFi is utterly transparent, never drops, is very fast... what are you all on about?

#18 User is offline   Link

  • Leader of the unknown troops to rescue the universe
Icon
Posts:
614
Joined:
01-January 06
Gender:
Male
Country:
Germany
Interest:
Programmer
Location:
Earth, Europe, Germany

Posted 14 November 2006 - 04:12 PM

View Postpaul, on Nov 14 2006, 08:08 PM, said:

What kind of crappy hardware do you people use for wireless?My WiFi is utterly transparent, never drops, is very fast... what are you all on about?
for me it totally depends on the area I am in.. when I am at university (unencrypted, free ESSID around) I can perfectly use it.. at my friend.. it also works.. just at home.. it works like shit as my parents had shit many ideas of earthquake security.. all walls are ferroconcrete with lots of metal inside them.. then all the walls are wired with absolutely everything and there are about 100 wires through every wall just to make sure that there is always enough cable in the house.. our router is on the other side of my room wall.. I cannot get any signal through the wall.. once I go out of the room in the room of the router (there are practically just 20 cm of distance between that room and my room).. full signal! My room... no signal! Impossible!Fortunately my parents made that 100 million wires through the walls.. I just picked 16 of them.. 8 for my PC, 8 for my notebook.. I soldered an RJ45 connection on every end.. plugged them in the router as well as PC/notebook.. works!So check if wireless works.. it could work.. but it doesn't necessarily need to work!

#19 User is offline   Overlord

  • Postcount whoring since 2003~
Icon
Posts:
3,711
Joined:
03-January 06
Gender:
Male
Country:
United Kingdom
Interest:
Programmer
Location:
Berkshire, UK

Posted 15 November 2006 - 02:31 PM

Hah, nice bodge.Faraday cages are annoying if you're trying to set up WiFi... =(

#20 User is offline   The Government

  • la belle dame sans fucks
Icon
Posts:
1,062
Joined:
17-March 06
Gender:
Pie
Interest:
Been around forever

Posted 15 November 2006 - 04:38 PM

View PostOverlord, on Nov 15 2006, 01:31 PM, said:

Hah, nice bodge.Faraday cages are annoying if you're trying to set up WiFi... =(
I heard that some classrooms in the UK are using Faraday cages to prevent any sort of electronic communication with the outside in an effort to reduce cheating. Is that true? If so, damn, your country is almost as fucked up as ours.

  • (2 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users