X-CulT Community Forums: Do I need a new power supply? - X-CulT Community Forums

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Do I need a new power supply? Please help ASAP ;_;

#1 User is offline   Just Me

Icon
Canada
Interest:
Writer

Posted 26 July 2006 - 12:29 AM

Hey guys and gals, I recently bought a new hard drive, a new case and a bunch of mod stuff for my case (lasers, more fans etc.)Now I can't have all of my hard drives plugged in at once or it hangs at the boot screen (you know, PRESS ESC TO ENTER BIOS screen). This is my first time doing the whole mod thing, so I'm wondering if I'm over-taxing my power supply or if I'm just retarded and missed something else. My hard drives are as follows: 40 GB IDE (master with WinXP), 200 GB IDE (slave), 160 GB SATA and 300 GB SATA.Is this a case of an over-use on the power supply? I double checked, the power supply is 500 watt.Thanks in advance for any advice, and lemme know if more info is needed. I really need this solved as soon as possible so I can order a new power supply (if that's what I need) and get my computer up and running.P.S. Sorry for being a n00b, this is my first time with modding stuff :/P.P.S. Neon friggin' rules ^_^EDIT: I unplugged all of the fans, lasers, etc. and suddenly all four drives worked. I know this sounds like a dumb question, but does it matter where the fans etc. are plugged in? I have them all on the same cord coming from the PSU; should I put some in different places? Or do I just need a better PSU?Thanks again in advance.

This post has been edited by Just Me: 26 July 2006 - 12:58 AM

#2 User is offline   The Government

• la belle dame sans fucks
Icon
Interest:
Been around forever

Posted 26 July 2006 - 01:15 AM